Suggested Reads >>

Kinabalu climb for cancer charity

I’ve always been passionate about worthy causes in aid of cancer research, care and awareness, as I have family and friends who are cancer survivors and have also lost close family members to the disease. Last year, my colleague Kang Nee successfully raised RM17,000 for the National Cancer Society of Malaysia and the Penang Hospice in her trek to Everest Base Camp (EBC), which was featured on LOTR during the run-up to her trip. (Ed: LOTR will be publishing an exclusive interview with Kang Nee on her experience during her trek to EBC; watch out for that next!) 

I love the mountains, but EBC will probably remain an elusive target for li’l ol’ me for now! My highest point on earth is Mt Kinabalu (4,095.2 metres ASL); I’ve written on LOTR on how my interest in mountains came about (it largely had to do with my late mom’s influence as a geography teacher), and how I trained for it. My planned photo-essay post on the climb is unfortunately still in draft format after 4 years (I know.. I promise to get on it!)

Anyway, this year, I was pleased to hear that my rhythm-tapping, radio/TV-hosting, emceeing, actor friend Kong Eu is climbing Mt Kinabalu on September 1, 2014 to raise money for the National Cancer Council of Malaysia (‘MAKNA’) in support of their efforts in cancer care, research, education and awareness. Dubbed #KlimbForKancer, Kong Eu is targetting to raise an amount three times the height of Kinabalu, i.e. RM12,286.00. If you’d like to support Kong Eu and his cause, do donate at Kong Eu’s SimplyGiving sitehttp://simplygiving.com/klimbforkancer (where you can also follow his progress and buzz some encouragement when the climb comes!). Donations go directly to the National Cancer Council, and tax exemption receipts will be provided.

The man himself! Click to go to the SimplyGiving page.

The man himself! Click to go to the SimplyGiving page.

(Ok, now I need to go work on that Kinabalu post!)

About speedshuffle (73 Articles)
Wen Li is a runner, blogger, mother, educator and artist. She is the Co-Founder and Cartoonist of Malaysia's first comic strip on running, Running Toons (facebook.com/RunningToons) and is a Compressport Ambassador. Her running story was featured in Marie Claire Malaysia's April 2016 issue alongside several other notable women running bloggers. She runs wherever the road takes her, come scorching sunshine, stifling humidity or relentless rain (and preferably to a Nasi Lemak breakfast!). Apart from pounding the asphalt, she also enjoys hiking and pilates, and is now attempting CrossFit!

Leave a Reply

